Static exhibit at the National Railway Museum, Port Adelaide
T253 displayed at the National Railway Museum, Port Adelaide, on 24 September 2005.
T 253 was built by Walkers Limited of Maryborough, Queensland (builder's number 278 of 1917) as one of the South Australian Railways highly successful T-class narrow gauge locomotives, which ultimately numbered 78 examples. The T-class 4-8-0 locomotives superceded the earlier Y-class 2-6-0 as the prime motive power of the SAR narrow-gauge lines until the arrival of the 400-class Beyer-Garratts in the 1950's.
After many years of service with the South Australian Railways, T 253 was withdrawn from service on 1 May 1970 following conversion of the Broken Hill route from narrow to standard gauge.
T 253 was exhibited at the Australian Railway Historical Society (SA Division) museum at Mile End for many years. Together with the other Mile End exhibits it was subsequently transferred to the excellent National Railway Museum, Port Adelaide, which showcases the railway history of South Australia and the Commonwealth Railways.
An earlier scanned view of T253 at the National Railway Museum, Port Adelaide in July 2002.
(At that stage it was displayed outside the main exhibition hall.)
Fluck R. E., Sampson R., & Bird K. J. 'Steam locomotives and Railcars of the South Australian Railways',
published by The Mile End Railway Museum (SA) Inc, 1986.
Webmaster's observation or comment
Page updated: 2 October 2013